Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HOME: Digital Archives

What are Digital Archives?

What are Digital Archives?

 

An archive is a place where historical documents relating to the activities of a person, family, business, community or a nation are kept for the information of future generations. These documents may be in many different forms. They could be photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, government documents, recordings, or other materials of historical interest.

A digital archive holds historical documents in an electronic form. This allows people to search for, view, and print historical documents from any internet connected computer. The links on the left side will connect you to organizations holding historical documents relating to the state of North Carolina. If you are interested in searching for historical materials from anywhere else in the United States, you may want to search in the National Archives.

If you would like assistance searching in any of these archives, please ask someone at the Adult Services Reference desk. We would be happy to help you!

You may also contact Adult Services, Local History & Genealogy Room Supervisor, Monica Thompson, for assistance. Monica can be reached by emailing mthompson@perrylibrary.org, or calling 252-438-3316, ext 233. 

North Carolina Government and Heritage Library and State Archives of North Carolina

What will you discover at the North Carolina Government & Heritage Library and State Archives of North Carolina? 

Check out this new video to find out what to expect when visiting this library in-person.